February 19, 2016

Patrol Division

Version Française

The Miramichi Police Force – Patrol Division consists of twenty-two sworn officers, and is under the command of the Deputy Chief of Police, who reports directly to the Chief of Police. The division provides 24/7 active patrol and emergency response throughout the City. The section consists of four platoons, each platoon being comprised of one Sergeant, one Corporal and three to four Constables. The men and women assigned to the Patrol Division are the first responders to the majority of calls for service in the City. Some of their duties include traffic stops, enforcing provincial motor vehicle laws, enforcing municipal by-laws, investigating criminal and non-criminal activities and making arrests.

Some members of the Patrol Division provide specialized services which are captured in our ‘Specialized Units’ section.